My Humble Acceptance of the Liebster Award

I am very grateful to be standing (actually, sitting) here today to accept this wonderful Liebster Award from the incredible Kristina over at Speakeasy. It’s  a wonderful blog on classic movies, and you should definitely give it a look if you haven’t.

Well, on to the such and such of this award. Time to answer the questions!

1. If you could only watch ONE person’s entire life’s work (actor, actress or director, and everything they ever made, including tv) who would you pick?  

I see, a tough one to start. I’d say Tarantino, but then I’d only be watching like 8 movies on repeat. I’ll go with Spielberg, since he has such a wide range of thoroughly enjoyable films, from adventure (Jaws, Jurassic Park) to action (Indiana Jones, Minority Report) to drama (Schindler’s List, Lincoln) to alien invasion (Close Encounters of the Third Kind, War of the Worlds), and there’s only a few duds.

2. What classic stars would you want to have dinner with?  

Well, to make this easier, I’ll pick three. I’d say Roger Moore, Christopher Lee (R.I.P.), and Shirley Temple. Weird and random assortment, you say? You’re right, I say.

3. Movie quote you use often. 

Not that I’m proud of this, but I often quote Batman & Robin, using Schwarzenegger’s ice puns, like “Chill out” and “Ice to meet you.” I also like Schwarzenegger’s best line ever, “You cold-blooded bastard! I’ll tell you what I think of it: I’ll live to see you eat that contract, but I hope you leave enough room for my fist because I’m going to ram it into your stomach and break your goddamn spine!” Not a lot of situations to use that one, unfortunately. Outside of Schwarzenegger, I like “Clever girl” and “You’re gonna need a bigger boat.”

4. Movie set you’d most like to visit.

I would love to go to Matamata in New Zealand to see the Lord of the Rings/Hobbit Shire set.

5. Your favourite movie soundtrack.

Definitely Lord of the Rings, overall. I also love John Williams music, but the only music of his I remember off the top of my head are the main themes of each movie.

6. Last great movie related book you read.

There’s an old museum-type place near where I live. Each year, they have a book sale in their “book room”, where each book is only like a dollar each. It was there that I picked up this:

Online photo, obviously. I didn’t want to burden you with my amateurish photo-taking.

It’s a great read, and filled with a ton of my favorites: Star Wars, Superman, Jaws, Alien, The Godfather, etc.

7. Who’s your favourite character actress?

I’ll go with Margaret Hamilton, for her role as the Wicked Witch of the West in The Wizard of Oz.

8. Worst movie by a great director?

Without a doubt, Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull. Ugh. That’s all I have to say on that subject.

9. Most underrated actor?

I’m going to go with Karl Urban. He only has a few lead roles, but when he does, he knocks it out of the park (Dredd, anyone?). Even in his supporting roles, he’s still incredible. I still think that The Bourne Supremacy would have been a better film if Urban’s Kirill had done more in it, been more of the anti-Bourne he was supposed to be, but only was in the few scenes he had.

10. Two stars who should have made a movie together but never did.

I’m going to go with a specific movie that John Travolta and Michael Madsen should have done with their characters from Pulp Fiction and Reservoir Dogs, Vincent and Vic Vega, which would’ve been called The Vega Brothers. Yeah. That was totally going to be a thing. Now, it can’t, since Travolta’s face is absolutely ruined by plastic surgery.

11. What’s a little-known but great film you love to champion?

I don’t know if it counts as little-known, but I’ll go with Jumper. It’s not nearly as bad as everyone says it is, and it’s filled with amazing teleporting action sequences.

And now for 11 facts about myself:

1. I’ve never really enjoyed any sort of horror, I’m a huge scaredy-cat.

2. The films that really got me into my love of film were the James Bond movies.

3. On that subject, I really love Roger Moore’s Bond, but my favorite is Daniel Craig.

4. Last Bond-related fact: I watched through the entire Bond series in about 2 1/2 months. Yep.

5. For some reason I can’t begin to fathom, I own the DVD’s of X-Men Origins: Wolverine, Transformers 2-3, Terminator 3, Terminator Salvation, Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull, and Star Wars Episodes I-III. I’m a completionist to an unhealthy level.

6. The first Tarantino film I saw was Kill Bill Vol. 1, then Vol. 2, then Reservoir Dogs, then Inglourious Basterds, then Pulp Fiction, then Django Unchained. I’ve yet to see Jackie Brown and Death Proof. Basically, I watched them in a completely weird and mixed up order.

7. I absolutely love seeing movies in drive-ins. I’ve seen The Dark Knight, Iron Man 2, The Dark Knight Rises, Man of Steel, and Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince at a drive-in.

8. I don’t often go to movies in the theatre, but I’ve started to save my ticket stubs in a binder. The movies included, so far, are The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies, Avengers: Age of Ultron, and The Terminator (which was playing in the theatre because of Cinemark’s classic film screening schedule).

9. I am terrible at all sports, even bowling.

10. My favorite Star Trek movie is The Voyage Home. Yes, the one with time travel and whales that talk to aliens. Yes. You read that right.

11. And finally, my favorite movie of all time is probably Back to the Future, for reasons too numerous to count.

liebsterI’ll pass the award on to these great blogs (Don’t worry, you’re still great if I didn’t pick you. Probably. 😉 )

1. Drew’s Movie Reviews

2. emmakwall (explains it all)

3. vinnieh

4. Silver Screenings

5. Movie Reviews 101

6. The Blazing Reel

Now, for these lucky nominees, here’s your prize! I’m joking, of course, here’s the rules of this award.

Liebster Rules:
1. Thank the blog who nominated you and link back to them.
2. Nominate up to 11 other bloggers to receive the coveted award.
3. Answer 11 questions from the blogger who nominated you.
4. Tell your readers 11 random facts about yourself.
5. Give the nominees 11 questions to answer on their blog when they post their nomination.

And here’s some questions for you to answer:

1. What is a movie/series that is considered a cultural landmark that you’ve never seen?

2. What is a movie that everyone loves, that you hate?

3. Alternatively, what’s a movie that everyone hates, that you love?

4. What’s your favorite book of all time?

5. If you were born in a different era, which would you want to have been born in?

6. Who is your favorite director?

7. If you ever directed/wrote a film, what would it be about? What genre would it be?

8. What is your biggest pet peeve?

9. What is the funniest movie you’ve ever seen?

10. What is your favorite movie in each of these genres: drama, romantic, action, sci-fi, fantasy?

11. Is there a film that was a challenge to watch the entirety of for you, that you watched anyways? If so, what is it?

Well, I’m done with this. Can’t wait to read your responses!

18 Comments Add yours

  1. Kristina says:

    This is awesome, love how fast you did this! That looks like a good book, and I like Karl Urban too, good choice. AND I’d want to be at your dinner with those people. Fun answers, thanks and best, I enjoy your blog 🙂

    Like

    1. I figured that I could take some time off from procrastinating my review of Watchmen to write this up. Thanks! 😀 I enjoy your blog, too. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. newguy87 says:

    Thanks for the nomination, i tend not to write up the posts on these but i am happy to answer the questions.

    1. What is a movie/series that is considered a cultural landmark that you’ve never seen?

    I would have said Harry Potter but now i have seen them but i will go with the Cornetto trilogy

    2. What is a movie that everyone loves, that you hate?

    Shaun of the Dead or Lord of the rings Return of the King, First one i never find funny laugh once, second it just felt the same as the 2nd one with the ring being thrown in volcano.

    3. Alternatively, what’s a movie that everyone hates, that you love?

    Brick because everyone i suggest to watch it turn round and say they dislike it.

    4. What’s your favorite book of all time?

    Don’t really read so only read about 5 so will go with Star Wars Death Troopers

    5. If you were born in a different era, which would you want to have been born in?

    70’s so i could see the 80’s films first time.

    6. Who is your favorite director?

    John Carpenter classic machine.

    7. If you ever directed/wrote a film, what would it be about? What genre would it be?

    I want to make a perfect horror film because too many are cliched.

    8. What is your biggest pet peeve?

    Teenagers/Young adults always doing drugs in films not everyone does them.

    9. What is the funniest movie you’ve ever seen?

    Duck Soup or 22 Jump Street

    10. What is your favorite movie in each of these genres: drama, romantic, action, sci-fi, fantasy?

    Brick
    500 Days of Summer
    Mad Max Fury Road
    Inception
    Princess Bride

    11. Is there a film that was a challenge to watch the entirety of for you, that you watched anyways? If so, what is it?

    So many films never finished The Godfather 3, and struggled through the first two, most well known titles.

    I will also leave you 11 questions.

    1. What is your favourite television show turned Movie?
    2. What is your favouritie cartoon when you grew up?
    3. What is the film you suggest that people usually haven’t seen?
    4. What film have you watched the most in your life?
    5. What film have you seen the most in cinema?
    6. I know you dislike horror but did one horror put you off horror?
    7. Which FIlm Festival would you most like to go too?
    8. Do you video review films?
    9. Have you ever been on a podcast?
    10. Which up and coming star do you want to see win an Oscar?
    11. do you follow any staars/directors though their career and if so who?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for taking the time to answer! 😀 Answers to your questions:
      1. What is your favourite television show turned Movie?
      Mission: Impossible. Never actually seen the TV show, but loved the film.
      2. What is your favourite cartoon when you grew up?
      The 2003 Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles cartoon.
      3. What is the film you suggest that people usually haven’t seen?
      Big Trouble in Little China
      4. What film have you watched the most in your life?
      Oooh…probably Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs or the Wizard of Oz. If not them, then it’s either Star Wars Episode II (don’t like it now, didn’t know any better back then) or the first Spider-Man. I’ve watched all of these so many times, it’s insane.
      5. What film have you seen the most in cinema?
      Sorry to say that I’ve never seen a movie more than once in the cinema, so every movie I’ve seen in the cinema is tied for first.
      6. I know you dislike horror but did one horror put you off horror?
      Bits and pieces of Halloween/Friday the 13th sequels, running into the Saw sequels on network television, and walking past the horror section in my video rental store when I was like 7. Some of those DVD covers are scary, man! I plan on watching Alien soon, and will try to get over my weird prejudice.
      7. Which Film Festival would you most like to go to?
      Probably Cannes. Not sure, though.
      8. Do you video review films?
      No, because I don’t have a good enough camera (and I kind of dislike hearing my voice).
      9. Have you ever been on a podcast?
      No, because I don’t have anyone to do one with. Anyone who I can play off of entertainingly unscripted, that is.
      10. Which up and coming star do you want to see win an Oscar?
      Miles Teller. I love Whiplash.
      11. Do you follow any stars/directors though their career and if so who?
      Not really, though I do like watching my way through prominent directors’ (like Spielberg and Tarantino) old films. I like J.J. Abrams’s films, and am excited to see Star Wars Episode VII, if that counts. Also, I’m excited to see what Matthew Vaughn does next.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. newguy87 says:

        Nice answers, Whiplash was awesome, i have the same problem as you for podcast (as well as not really know about th recording side of it)

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I mean, I could talk to myself, but then I run into recording problems, as I also don’t have a good microphone/audio editing software. Basically, I’d have to commit to something that I don’t know anything about.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. newguy87 says:

        yeah, just need to find the experienced person that can help get it started

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Congrats on your well-deserved award! (And thanks for the nomination. You asked some really good questions and I’ll have to give ’em some thought.)

    I like your idea of keeping your movie stubs in a binder. What a great way to keep a collection of all those fun times – or times where you felt ripped off. Thanks for sharing these facts about yourself, too!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The stubs thing wasn’t my idea originally, but I’m not sure exactly where it came from. 🙂
      Thanks so much! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Drew says:

    Thank you so much for the nomination! 🙂 I’ll get to this when I can but looking at my record with awards, and my sweet procrastination skills, it won’t be until early August. I’ll try for sooner, though. Congratulations on the award!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, and do it on your time, man! I’m just here to pass the reward on. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. vinnieh says:

    Congratulations man and thank you for the nomination.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, and you’re welcome. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. emmakwall says:

    Congratulations!!! So well deserved and I loved your answers 🙂

    (and the Alice in Wonderland pic – so beautiful!)

    Thanks SO much for my nomination, you are a true sweetheart!!!!!!!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. emmakwall says:

        You are most, most welcome 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Thanks again and congrats on the nomination!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re welcome and thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

